marți, 16 noiembrie 2010



Romania is a country located at the crossroads of Central and Southeastern Europe, north of the Balkan Peninsula, on the Lower Danube, within and outside the Carpathian arch, bordering on the Black Sea.[4] Romania shares a border with Hungary and Serbia to the west, Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova to the northeast, and Bulgaria to the south.

The Constitution of Romania is based on the Constitution of France's Fifth Republic[98] and was approved in a national referendum on December 8, 1991.[98] A plebiscite held in October 2003 approved 79 amendments to the Constitution, bringing it into conformity with European Union legislation.[98] The country is governed on the basis of multi-party democratic system and of the segregation of the legislative, executive and judicial powers.[98] Romania is a parliamentary democratic republic where executive functions are held by prime minister. The president is elected by popular vote for maximum two terms, and since the amendments in 2003, the terms are five years.[98] He appoints the prime minister, who in turn appoints the Council of Ministers (based at Victoria Palace).[98] The legislative branch of the government, collectively known as the Parliament (residing at the Palace of the Parliament), consists of two chambers – the Senate with 140 members, and the Chamber of Deputies with 346 members.[98] The members of both chambers are elected every four years under a system of party-list proportional representation.[98]


Niciun comentariu: